My Wrestlemania 28 predictions

I tried this last year after not watching wrestling for a while, and I sucked.

felipe bascuñan photo, via Wikimedia Commons

Beth Phoenix is a great women's wrestler. Too bad she doesn't have enough quality competition in the WWE.

So I decided I had to try and redeem myself.

With Wrestlemania 28 this weekend, I thought it would be fun to make predictions. Because I don’t get The Score, I haven’t seen any matches since the Royal Rumble. I read reviews of Monday Night Raw, but not Smackdown.

So let’s see if a casual fan can predict the Wrestlemania winners.

Kelly Kelly and Maria Menounos vs. Divas Champion Beth Phoenix and Eve

I like Beth Phoenix. I think she’s the best women’s wrestler the WWE has. I’m confused to why she’s always fighting Divas though, and not someone like Gail Kim (when Kim was still with the company).

I also think Kelly Kelly is overrated. I don’t see her appeal at all.

Anyways, I don’t think a celebrity has ever lost a Wrestlemania match, and I can’t see it starting now. I know, I’m being generous in calling Maria Menounos a celebrity, but bear with me. Kelly Kelly and Maria Menounos for the win.

Randy Orton vs. Kane

Orton takes a beating, hulks up, and pins Kane. Pretty formulaic Orton match. The guy is pretty stale. He’s better as a heel.

Team Teddy (Santino Marella, R-Truth, Kofi Kingston, Zack Ryder, The Great Khali, and Booker T)  vs. Team Johnny (David Otunga, Mark Henry, Dolph Ziggler, Jack Swagger, The Miz, and Drew McIntyre)

Before I get to this match, I just need to say something about Henry and the Miz. It’s crazy how far these two have fallen. Henry spent most of the past year as the best heel in the WWE.

The Miz headlined Wrestlemania last year against John Cena. He’s one of the best on the mic, a good wrestler and is always improving. How did they get stuck in a match like this?

Anyways, I expect Team Johnny to win.

Shamsuddin Muhammad photo, via Wikimedia Commons

The Big Show should be able to improve his Wrestlemania record.

Intercontinental Champion Cody Rhodes vs. Big Show

I know they’ve been poking fun at the fact that the Big Show doesn’t have the greatest Wrestlemania record. I think he actually has one of the worst records of all-time (three wins, eight losses).

But that’s a sign of a good company guy. He’s willing to put over guys, and no matter what his record, he’s still seen as a monster wrestler.

I think he gets the win here, maybe by DQ so he doesn’t get the title.

The Undertaker vs. Triple H (Hell in a Cell Match with special referee Shawn Michaels)

I expect the be a lot like last year’s Wrestlemania match between these two. A big move, then the rest. A big move, then rest.

I can’t see the steak stopping at 19-1. A perfect 20-0 sounds like a good way for the Undertaker to go out and retire.

Undertaker to win, maybe with some type of help from Michaels.

WWE Champion CM Punk vs. Chris Jericho

The only title change on the show. Jericho always seems to get the win when you keep expecting him to lose. He won the majority of matches against Shawn Michaels. He defeated Edge at Wrestlemania two years ago.

I expect him to lose, so in a weird twist of logic, Jericho will win, helping to build the feud between the two.

World Heavyweight Champion Daniel Bryan vs. Sheamus

I don’t know anything about this match, or the buildup to it. It seems a little anticlimactic compared to a lot of the other matches on the card. I think Bryan remains the champ here.

Mshake3 photo, via Wikimedia Commons

The Rock will pass the torch on the Cena, as Hogan did to the Rock at Wrestlemania 18.

John Cena vs. The Rock

The Rock has talked a lot about passing the torch.

Andre the Giant passed the torch to Hulk Hogan. Hogan passed it to the Rock. Now the Rock needs to pass it to Cena.

It doesn’t make sense for them to build up this match for a year, have the Rock win, and then he leave to go do a movie. I expect Cena to win, followed by a handshake.

2 Comments

Filed under Sports blogs I like

2 responses to “My Wrestlemania 28 predictions

  1. Chipper

    I’ll take:
    Maria Menounos likely wins just like you said, bad ribs and all.
    Randy Orton, I like the snake reference (Randy-Viper, Kobe-Black Mamba)
    Team Teddy, only because they are vastly inferior in ring (hate McIntyre)
    Rhodes, He is being pushed and Big Show helps the best of them
    Undertaker, HHH now has more business interest then in ring interest (streak lives)
    Punk, Jericho wins if he stays in WWE and not travel with the band
    Bryan in an AJ related screw job, Sheamus would be better and is a better champ but probably won’t win although he should
    Cena, like you said, passing the torch, disagree with the handshake, I don’t think they like each other for real. May have a suspect end that may turn Cena a heal

    • I find the passing the torch thing is better with a handshake or a hug.

      I don’t think Cena could ever be an effective heel again. Like Stone Cold, too many people like him to cheer him. The Rock was able to do it though. It’s a fine line to be a heel and popular.

      Although if Cena ever became like Kurt Angle when Angle first started, that would be good. Remember the three I’s?

Leave a Reply

