Keeper pool trade explained

So today I made another keeper pool trade in the Greatest Hockey Pool Ever.

By Dan4th (flickr) [CC-BY-2.0 (www.creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Mark Streit has been added to my keeper pool team.

This time, I traded a first round draft pick for Mark Streit.

Now, Streit is out for the rest of the year, but I’m already out of it this season. I’m currently sitting in eighth place out of 10. But I’ve been stockpiling players to help out for next year.

One of the spots I needed to improve on was my defence. Only five defence count in our pool each season. I currently have Shea Weber, Ryan Suter, Andrei Markov, Joni Pitkanen, Kris Russell and Kevin Bieksa. I plan on dropping Russell and Bieksa, but I still need one more d-man.

Streit was available by trade, and I don’t think a first rounder was too much to give up. To start, Streit should be good for at least 50 points a season, potentially even 60 or 70 (he hit 62 a couple of years ago).

Looking at the available defencemen this summer, there’s none that come close to that production. All the young prospects (PK Subban, John Carlson, Cam Fowler, etc.) are already taken. So are players such as Duncan Keith, Keith Yandle and Kris Letang. And older guys are obviously snapped up (Tomas Kaberle, Chris Pronger and Nicklas Lidstrom among them).

Right now, the top free agent defencemen consist of names such as Brent Seabrook, Jordan Leopold, Joe Corvo and Mark Giordano. They’re the only ones with more than 25 points. Only Seabrook has 30. None of those players would be gone in the first round, maybe not even the second or third rounds.

There aren’t even a lot of good forwards available this season. Ryane Clowe is the only forward in the top 10 available that might be taken in the first couple of rounds (other players include Milan Hejduk, Alex Tanguay and Andrew Ladd).

The way I look at it, that draft pick will be a late first rounder. If Streit was available as a free agent, I’d choose him at that spot anyways, so that’s why I think it’s a fair trade.

What do you think? Would you rather have the first round pick, or Mark Streit?

Leave a comment

Filed under Sports blogs I like

Leave a Reply

