Best item on my bucket list now crossed off

As many of you know, I have a bucket list of things I want to do before I die.

While many of the items are frivolous, there are some that are serious. One, more so than any other.

So I am now pleased to cross off #67: Have at least two kids.

Born on Nov. 23 at 4:29 p.m. was Samantha Paige Collins, and also born the same day, at 4:30 p.m. was Kaitlyn Rose Collins.

The names took a while for us. We wanted the middle names to be Asian, to reflect my wife’s culture. But we couldn’t find any we liked that had meanings we thought matched the characteristics of the kids.

The first names also took a while. Some of our other choices included: Samantha and Ella (Sam and Ella) and Jacqueline and Jillian (Jack and Jill). Our main goal for first names though, were to have a name where you could have variations. For Samantha, you could call her Sammy or Sam. For Kaitlyn, there’s always Katie and Kate.

So far, the kids are doing well. They were born six weeks premature because Kaitlyn was two pounds less than Samantha, so they ended up staying in the hospital for about three weeks. But they were almost perfectly healthy. It was just a size thing.

So they were released from the hospital about a week before Christmas. It’s been fun having the two girls at home now. Each day and night is great, but unpredictable. One night, for example, the girls wake up all the time and barely sleep, which means I barely sleep. The next night, they sleep a lot better and only wake up for feedings.

Anyways, I figured with the new year approaching, this would be a good time to officially scratch that item off my list. Especially since there will probably be blog posts in the new year revolving around the twins. I was going to post something earlier, but I wanted to wait until the twins were home from the hospital, and then Christmas was pretty busy, so I haven’t had a chance.

Now, I just need to make sure that Samantha and Kaitlyn learn to cheer for the Canadiens.

1 Comment

Filed under bucket list

One response to “Best item on my bucket list now crossed off

  1. Tiff

    My fave blog:)

Leave a Reply

