NFL picks, week 4

Last week was a rough week. After back-to-back 8-8 weeks, I went down to 6-10.

I'm hoping Mark Sanchez destroys the Bills defence.

At least my fantasy football team is doing better. After a rough loss in the first week (Matt Ryan got me only 1.24 fantasy points, and Adrian Peterson never saw the ball in the second half, among other things), I’ve turned things around. I now have the highest scoring football team, and a 2-1 record.

Right now, I have seven of the top 22 players in our pool according to points.

So who am I counting on this week? Read below, along with my picks.

Players on my bench this week because they’re not playing: Adrian Peterson, Thomas Jones

New York Jets at Buffalo Bills, Jets favoured by 5 1/2

I have no Jets or Bills players, mostly by design (especially when it comes to the Bills). Buffalo aren’t consistent enough to trust starting in a fantasy pool week by week, and I don’t like the Jets. Although my opponent has the Bills defence, so I’m hoping the Jets run up the score this week. My pick: Jets

Cincinnati Bengals at Cleveland Browns, Bengals favoured by 3 1/2

I have Terrell Owens on my team, who has been a fantasy bust this season. Every other player on my team, no matter if they’re a backup, or a kicker, or whatever, has more points than Owens except for one player: Ben Roethlisberger. Hey Terrell, if tight end Bo Scaife is outscoring you, then maybe it’s time you stop talking about how great you are. My pick: Bengals.

Baltimore Ravens at Pittsburgh Steelers, Steelers favoured by 1 1/2

Anquan Boldin has started to get it going in Baltimore.

Besides the aforementioned Roethlisberger, I also have Anquan Boldin on my team. Boldin was in the same boat as Owens, until he exploded for three touchdowns and 24.98 fantasy points for me last week. Boldin will be one of those guys who will be always in my starting lineup, because you don’t know when he’s going to explode for a game like he had last week. My pick: Ravens

Denver Broncos at Tennessee Titans, Titans favoured by 6 1/2

I have Bo Scaife, who’s been a tight end disappointment for me (only 20 and 23 yards the past couple of weeks, and no touchdowns). I also have Broncos receiver Demaryius Thomas, who’s been good in his two games (he missed the first game due to injury). He’s been on my bench though, because of my other wide receivers (and I love talking with brackets). My pick: Broncos

Detroit Lions at Green Bay Packers, Packers favoured by 14 1/2

I have the Green Bay defence, which I’m pretty confident will do well here. I’m hoping for a couple of picks, maybe one returned for a touchdown, a couple of sacks, a fumble recover, and maybe a shutout. My pick: Packers

San Francisco 49ers at Atlanta Falcons, Falcons favoured by 6 1/2

Matt Ryan has been on my bench ever since week one.

Here’s the funny thing. I have Atlanta QB Matt Ryan, who I expected big things out of.  And he’s been good. Five touchdowns versus one interception. But I’ve had him on my bench every week since week 1 because of the play of my other quarterbacks, Philip Rivers and Michael Vick. And I still have Roethlisberger as well. So I’ll have to trade one of them. I also have the Falcons kicker, Matt Bryant, who I picked up off waivers this week. My pick: Falcons

Carolina Panthers at New Orleans Saints, Saints favoured by 13 1/2

I have the Carolina defence, who I am not playing obviously. And except for Drew Brees, I don’t for Saints players, because it’s too hard to predict who is going to have a good game each week. My pick: Saints

Seattle Seahawks at St. Louis Rams, Seahawks favoured by 1/2

I have Justin Forsett, the Seahawks runningback. He’s only starting this week because Adrian Peterson isn’t playing this week. In a game this close against two bad teams, I choose to go with the home team. My pick: Rams

Indianapolis Colts at Jacksonville Jaguars, Colts favoured by 8 1/2

I have Austin Collie, who is destroying teams so far this year. He’s got 359 yards and four touchdowns in three games. Pretty good for a late mid-round pick. My pick: Colts

Houston Texans at Oakland Raiders, Texans favoured by 3 1/2

I don't have anyone on Houston, so I'm going for the cheerleaders.

I wanted to grab Kevin Walter, the WR for Houston. But I didn’t draft him after a bad year for me last season, and then he was claimed on waiver wire before I got to him. Too bad. And I don’t have anyone else on these two teams. My pick: Texans

Washington Redskins at Philadelphia Eagles, Eagles favoured by 6 1/2

Michael Vick, the smartest pickup of the season so far, by any owner. Vick has been destroying defences the past few weeks, and will probably do so again this season. He’s the highest scoring player on my team, and is the third highest scoring player in the league overall (behind only Peyton Manning and Tom Brady). I also have Eagles RB LeSean McCoy, who has four touchdowns so far. My pick: Eagles

Arizona Cardinals at San Diego Chargers, Chargers favoured by 8 1/2

I have two Chargers, and no Cardinals. I have QB Philip Rivers (the fourth highest scoring player in the league), as well as RB Mike Tolbert, who is the starter while Ryan Matthews is injured. My pick: ChargersChicago Bears at New York Giants, Giants favoured by 3 1/2I have the Bears defence, who have been dynamite so far this year. They just need to get more sacks to bring their numbers up. My pick: Bears

New England Patriots at Miami Dolphins, Patriots favoured by 1/2

I don’t have any players from either team. So this is another pick ’em game. In this case, I think the better quarterback negates the home field advantage. In this case, that’s Brady. My pick: Patriots

Leave a comment

Filed under Sports blogs I like

Leave a Reply

