The Jack Reacher series

Okay, so it’s not really a series, but it’s the best word I could use to describe it.

Over the past few months, I have been devouring Lee Child’s books, all about this guy named Jack Reacher.

Reacher is an ex-military police officer who decides to spend his time after the army roaming around the U.S. And he usually finds trouble where ever he goes.

Each book is a stand-alone. Except for Reacher, characters don’t continue on from book to book (there’s a couple of them that appear in two books, but that’s about it).

I got hooked earlier this summer when I read the Killing Floor, the first of the Reacher novels. It was pretty awesome. Lots of action. A great story. It really kept you guessing.

So I started reading some more. I haven’t read them in order (you don’t really need to). There have been 14 books total, and I’m on #12. But the more of them I read, the less impressed I am.

Don’t get me wrong. They’re still great books, but they’re not the same. I find I’m figuring out what is going on pretty early in the book, way before Reacher ever does. That’s probably not good for an ex-cop who is trying to help people. Maybe I’m just getting better at recognizing the clues, but things become pretty obvious pretty quick.

I also find in the first book, the Killing Floor, there was tons of action. And I mean tons. It was pretty much non-stop. Now, the books drag on a little more. Not in a bad way, but a lot of times there’s no action until near the end.

Overall, I’m liking the books. I think it would be interesting to see if Child could write a novel that doesn’t have anything to do with Reacher. But in the end, they’re a lot of fun to read.

1 Comment

Filed under entertainment

One response to “The Jack Reacher series

  1. Moira

    I love Jack Reacher novels as well. I wish Lee Child could write faster…

Leave a Reply

