Things I don’t understand #5

There are plenty of things I don’t understand.

This is the band responsible for the song.

Some are things that I will never understand (how you keep score in a cricket match, for example). Others are things I will never want to understand (such as the popularity of Sex and the City).

And then there are things that really confuse me.

Like, why is Build Me Up Buttercup considered such a romantic song?

I’ve heard it played during romantic movies and at weddings. And everyone sings along.

Has anyone never actually listened to the lyrics before? It’s actually a very depressing song.

It’s all about a guy who loves a girl that treats him really bad and will never love him. And yet this is a romantic song for a wedding?

Besides the chorus that everyone knows and sings (which really, should be your first clue), here’s the lyrics to the first verse:

“I’ll be over at ten”, you told me time and again
But you’re late, I wait around and then (bah dah dah)
I run to the door, I can’t take any more
It’s not you, you let me down again”

Isn’t it romantic? A line later on in the song goes “Although you’re untrue, I’m attracted to you”.

It’s not like at the end of the song, she realizes that she truly loves him, and they get together.

Why don’t people just say the truth to the singer: Your girl is a skank, she doesn’t love you, and she never will. So get over her and go find someone else.

So can someone please explain to me why this is considered such a romantic song?

Leave a comment

Filed under entertainment

Leave a Reply

