Another major keeper pool trade

I made another trade in my keeper pool league. [picapp align=”right” wrap=”true” link=”term=steve+mason&iid=4499932″ src=”a/2/c/b/PicImg_Columbus_Blue_Jackets_b752.jpg?adImageId=10876982&imageId=4499932″ width=”234″ height=”233″ /]

Like most of the others, this one was a doozy.

I traded Duncan Keith for Steve Mason straight up.

I know some believe that the other guy got the better of the deal, since he got Keith. But I like the move (obviously). This sets me up very well going into out draft next fall.

To recap, we can only keep 15 players, plus two rookies. Right now, my forward position is set (I have Malkin, Semin, Stamkos, Duchene, Evander Kane, Cammalleri, Bergeron, Roy, Wheeler, Booth and Gionta). I’m going to protect all but one of those players (right now, Booth is the guy I’m looking to drop).

My goaltending is another matter though. I have Price, Gustavsson and Turco. With the ways things are going, I have no guarantees any of them will be a #1 goalie next year. So I had to try and pick one up either at the draft or through a trade.

The free agent market is pretty thin (Anderson, Vokoun and Elliott are the top three goalie free agents, followed by Howard, Niemi, Theodore, Roloson and Halak). Those are a bunch of unproven, one-year wonders, or no guarantee to even be #1 next year goalies. Because of that, I wanted to get a true #1 goalie. [picapp align=”right” wrap=”true” link=”term=duncan+keith&iid=4089124″ src=”9/6/5/3/Dallas_Stars_v_2e78.jpg?adImageId=10877013&imageId=4089124″ width=”234″ height=”304″ /]

Mason fits that bill. I would choose him over any of the free agents listed above. He’s only 21 years old, and he may not be having the greatest season this year, but he had more than 100 points in our pool last year. He was rookie of the year, and could be a major cornerstone piece of any team.

If one of my other three goalies end up being a true #1, then I should be in good shape.

With that said, my defence is now a little weak with the loss of Keith. I understand Keith has the second-most amount of points this year for a defenceman, and now I only have Suter, Pitkanen and Quincy as three of my five defencemen. But I figure I can pick up a couple of defenceman during our draft next September.

There are plenty of half-decent defenceman, and some with a lot of upside. Tyler Myers in Buffalo, Michael Del Zotto with the Rangers, Anton Stralman in Columbus and Jack Johnson in L.A.

And since I’ve solidified the goalie spot, I can focus on d-men in the draft, instead of trying to strengthen two positions at that time.

Of course, there’s always a chance I could make a trade by our deadline this Wednesday. At this point, it would probably be a draft pick for a defenceman, but that’s always an option.

Regardless, I’m happy with this deal. It moves me forward, strengthens my goalie position, and puts me in good shape for the next few years.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sports blogs I like

Leave a Reply

