NFL playoff picks

There are some weeks when you look at the football picks, and you don’t realize that you have a pattern until after you make your predictions. [picapp align=”right” wrap=”true” link=”term=green+bay+packers&iid=7453424″ src=”c/e/8/3/Packers_vs_Cardinals_01fa.JPG?adImageId=8869551&imageId=7453424″ width=”234″ height=”164″ /]

This is one of those weeks, as I think the road team will cover three of the games. Usually, the home team wins the playoff games (more so in the second week, when the bye teams have an extra week of rest). But I like my picks, and I’m not going to change them based on an overall pattern.

On to the picks:

New York Jets at Cincinnati Bengals, Bengals favoured by 2 1/2

I’m not a fan of Mark Sanchez, quarterback for the Jets. He’s thrown 12 touchdowns, 20 interceptions, been sacked 26 times and fumbled the ball 10 times. That’s not a good record for a first-year quarterback playing his first NFL game on the road. Yes, they beat the Bengals last week, but Cincy rested their starters, and because they were in the playoffs, didn’t have the same drive as they could. Look for them to come out on fire this week, and dedicate the game to Chris Henry. Bengals to win.

Philadelphia Eagles at Dallas Cowboys, Cowboys favoured by 3 1/2

This is a game designed solely to trick me. The Cowboys have such trouble winning in January, that I wouldn’t choose them. So of course, the Cowboys won their last three games, and played strong in losses against the Giants and Chargers. So now I’m cautiously convinced (does that make even sense?). So I’m going with the team with momentum. Cowboys to win.

Baltimore Ravens at New England Patriots, Patriots favoured by 3 1/2

The Ravens are made for playoff football. Hard-hitting, smash-mouth football. Strong defence. Able to run the ball. Plus the Patriots are without Wes Welker. That being said, I expect the Patriots to win this game. I just think it will be within a field goal. Ravens to cover.

Green Bay Packers at Arizona Cardinals, Cardinals favoured by 1 1/2

Could the Cardinals do it two years in a row? Last year, no one expected the Cardinals to do much, but they went all the way to the Superbowl. This year, many people expect the Cardinals to falter. And I’m one of them. I think the Packers, after winning seven of their last eight, have all the momentum. The Cardinals, on the other hand, have won two of their last four, against the Lions and the Rams (not exactly convincing). Packers to win.

1 Comment

Filed under Sports blogs I like

One response to “NFL playoff picks

  1. I really hope my superbowl predictions come out accurate this year. I have money on it. Also, Check out this sweet nfl 2010 playoff schedule I found the other day. 2010 NFL Playoff Schedule

Leave a Reply

