Week 14 NFL Thursday pick

Today is the day the streak is broken.

I'd be crying too, if I were a Browns fan.

In my picks last week, I focused on only one game, the Pittsburgh-Oakland game. I wrote:

“Pittsburgh is a league worst 3-7 when favoured, and second worst overall at 3-8 (only the woeful Lions are worse). So I had to laugh when I saw the Steelers were favoured by 13 1/2 over Oakland this week. The Raiders by the way, are 5-4 against the spread when they’re the underdog. It doesn’t add up to a good matchup if you’re the Steelers.”

Of course, not only did Oakland cover, but they won the game outright.

I’m not sure what the Steelers problems are, but they seem to be one of those teams that are good one year, then bad the next. They won the Superbowl last year, they suck this year. The same thing happened when they won the Superbowl in 2005, following it up with an 8-8 season.

Cleveland is a respectable 6-6 against the spread so far this season, while the Steelers are now tied with the Lions for the worst record in regards to the spread at 3-9.

But even though the Steelers are favoured by 9 1/2, I like Pittsburgh to win this game. First, it’s a Thursday night game, and the Steelers seem to get more geared up for a game that’s on national television at night. Second, they’re against the Browns. It’s a little bit of a mismatch.

Steelers to win.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sports blogs I like

Leave a Reply

