Book review: Now I Can Die in Peace

It’s no secret that I’m a big fan of Bill Simmons, a columnist for ESPN.

Bill Simmons first book was a great read!

He writes in a unique way that is different from most columnists, which I think sets him apart.

To start, he makes every column personal. That means he puts lots of feelings into each piece of writing. Instead of just quoting stats and numbers, he writes about how he feels, or how sports fans feel. It makes his writing unique.

In fact, I’m trying to emulate him more in my writing, with some longer, thought out posts.

Simmons has just published his second book, The Book of Basketball. I’ve asked Santa for that book for Christmas.

In the meantime, I just finished his first book, Now I Can Die In Peace: How ESPN’s Sports Guy Found Salvation, with a Little Help from Nomar, Pedro, Shawshank and the 2004 Red Sox. That actually has to be the longest book title I ever read, but the book is a quick read.

It’s a collection of some of his columns over the years relating to the Boston Red Sox as they won the World Series back in 2004. I’m not a Red Sox fan, or even a big fan of baseball, but I wanted to read the book because of the fact Simmons wrote it.

That said, I thoroughly enjoyed it. The first half was a little repetitive, as the Sox kept losing and falling short. But it is meant to set up the second half of the book, where the Sox break the curse and win the series, their first in about eight decades.

So now I’m anxious to read his next book. I’m a basketball fan, not a huge one, but definitely more of one than a baseball fan. I’d love to see him write more about the NHL, but that won’t happen until the Bruins win the championship (he gave up on the team years ago when he realized that the Bruins ownership at the time wouldn’t spend money to win the title).

I give Now I Die in Peace 4.5 out of 5 stars. It’s a must-read for any Simmons fans.

Leave a comment

Filed under entertainment, Sports blogs I like

Leave a Reply

