Week 13 NFL picks

A couple of months back, I had a chance to bet on football games because I knew someone going to Vegas.

The Pittsburgh Steelers are the worst in the league when being favoured with a spread.

Looking at the spreads, I wanted to choose five games, which would have won me something like $80 on a $5 bet. Not a lot, but a good choice for my first ever Vegas bet.

One of the games I chose was the Pittsburgh Steelers against the Detroit Lions. The Steelers were favoured to win by something like 10 points, and even though I am a Lions fan, I chose to go with the Steelers.

Pittsburgh won the game, but they never covered the spread.

It doesn’t seem like a big deal, until you look at the Steelers’ overall numbers. Pittsburgh is a league worst 3-7 when favoured, and second worst overall at 3-8 (only the woeful Lions are worse).

So I had to laugh when I saw the Steelers were favoured by 13 1/2 over Oakland this week. The Raiders by the way, are 5-4 against the spread when they’re the underdog.

It doesn’t add up to a good matchup if you’re the Steelers, at least not when the spread is taken into account.

Of course, knowing my luck, the Steelers are going to win by 45 points this week.

Anyways, on to my picks.

Philadelphia at Atlanta Line: Eagles by 5 1/2 Falcons
New England at Miami Line: Patriots by 4 1/2 Patriots
Tampa Bay at Carolina Line: Panthers by 6 1/2 Panthers
St.Louis at Chicago Line: Bears by 8 1/2 Bears
Detroit at Cincinnati Line: Bengals by 12 1/2 Bengals
Tennessee at Indianapolis Line: Colts by 6 1/2 Titans
Houston at Jacksonville Line: Jaguars by 1/2 Texans
Denver at Kansas City Line: Broncos by 4 1/2 Broncos
Oakland at Pittsburgh Line: Steelers by 13 1/2 Raiders
New Orleans at Washington Line: Saints by 9 1/2 Saints
San Diego at Cleveland Line: Chargers by 12 1/2 Chargers
Dallas at NY Giants Line: Cowboys by 1 1/2 Giants
San Francisco at Seattle Line: Seahawks by 1/2 49ers
Minnesota at Arizona Line: Vikings by 4 1/2 Vikings
Baltimore at Green Bay Line: Packers by 3 1/2 Ravens
Leave a comment

Filed under Sports blogs I like

Leave a Reply

