Week 9 NFL picks

Is this turning into one of the hardest seasons for picking football games or what?

Matt Ryan is leading the Falcons to a playoff spot.

A lot of big spreads aren’t being covered. A lot of teams just can’t put together consistent games from week to week. And home field doesn’t really mean anything.

So after a 6-7 week last week, I’m actually pretty happy with that.

A buddy of mine went about 3-10. The Sports Guy went 4-9. So 6-7, I’ll take that. I’m also excited that I was right on a lot of my fantasy picks last week (which I blogged about here), and ended up winning by 41.4 points, the highest point differential in my league.

By the way, I also want to say that if you’re going to follow someone who makes football picks, make sure you choose someone who picks all the games. Anyone can choose three or four games and have a good record week in and week out. If I did that, I would have the Texans, Bears, Colts and Vikings last week and would have finished 3-1.

Any record can look good if you’re not choosing all the games.

Anyways, on to my picks.

Washington Redskins at Atlanta Falcons, Falcons favoured by 9 1/2

The Redskins suck. There’s no other way around it. They don’t have the talent to win games, and the coaching leaves a lot to be desired. The Falcons have a good young nucleus, and need to be able to win these games to take the next step into being one of the elite teams in the next few years. Falcons to win.

Arizona Cardinals at Chicago Bears, Bears favoured by 2 1/2

Yes, I know. Arizona plays horrible on the road. Yes, I know, Kurt Warner didn’t look good last week against the Panthers. But the Bears leave a lot to be desired. I originally thought they would be a top five defence in the league, but some weeks, they have looked pretty bad. I think Warner is going to torch them for a lot of points (although the Bears will get their sacks and interceptions, so they’re still a good fantasy play). Cardinals to win.

Baltimore Ravens at Cincinnati Bengals, Ravens by 2 1/2

The Baltimore Ravens cheerleaders are cheering me on to victory! Or maybe the football team. It's hard to say.

The Ravens are better than their record indicates, thanks to a few close losses. The Bengals aren’t as good as their record indicates, thanks to a few close wins. This will be close, but I think the Ravens pull it out.

Houston Texans at Indianapolis Colts, Colts favoured by 8 1/2

The Colts are one of the last two unbeaten teams in the league. But some of their wins have been down to the wire, such as last week against San Fransisco, or an earlier game against Miami. The Colts are still great, but they’re not as dominant as they once were. I like Houston to cover in this game.

Kansas City Chiefs at Jacksonville Jaguars, Jaguars favoured by 6 1/2

I think this is the first time all season I’ve picked Jacksonville. I don’t know what’s wrong with them, except for the fact they don’t have a quarterback. But neither does Miami, and they seem to do all right. Kansas City has a good chance to actually pull this off, as they had the bye last week, so they’ve been preparing for this game for two weeks, but I still like the Jaguars.

Miami Dolphins at New England Patriots, Patriots favoured by 10 1/2

Miami will keep this close for a while, but I think this will turn out like the Dolphins-Colts game from earlier this season. The Dolphins will dominate time of possession, only for the Patriots to run wild when they have the ball, scoring on almost every possession. New England to win.

Green Bay Packers at Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Green Bay favoured by 9 1/2

The Bucaneers cheerleaders are lining up to read my picks.

How is this spread not higher? This could be 20 points, and I still think I would take the Packers. The Bucs have one of the worst defences in the league, while Green Bay has lots of offensive options. Green Bay to win.

Carolina Panthers at New Orleans Saints, Saints by 13 1/2

I think the Panthers learned last week that the running game is the key to their success, not Jake Delhomme, and they’ll continue that this week. The Saints are the second undefeated team, and as such, will have lots of pressure on them to continue that way. A lot of undefeated teams in years past have lost games they should have won because the pressure gets to be too much. I think the Saints win this week, but not big. Panthers to cover.

Detroit Lions at Seattle Seahawks, Seahawks favoured by 9 1/2

While the Seahawks are a good team (they’ve dealt with some injuries this season), they have a tendency to put up some stinkers. I think this week will be one of them. Lions to cover.

San Diego Chargers at New York Giants, Giants favoured by 4 1/2

The Giants have been brutal the past three weeks. They’ve played poorly on defence, horribly on offence, and not very good on special teams. In other words, they’ve sucked. Yet, they’re favoured against the Chargers this week, and yet, I’m choosing them, again. I guess I’ll never learn. Giants to win.

49ersTennessee Titans at San Francisco 49ers, 49ers favoured by 3 1/2

These picks are the best, says the Titans cheerleaders.

I was tempted to take the Titans as last week they finally put up their first win of the season. But the 49ers are a good team, and they’ll be prepared for Vince Young. I like the Titans, and want them to continue to win, but I think the 49ers will pull it out this week. 49ers to win.

Dallas Cowboys at Philadelphia Eagles, Eagles favoured by 2 1/2

Probably the hardest game of the week to choose. Both teams lead the NFC East with 5-2 records. They’ve both been getting better as the season moves along. But I have to give the edge to the Eagles because I think they have a deeper bench. Eagles to win.

Pittsburgh Steelers at Denver Broncos, Steelers favoured by 2 1/2

I don’t know why so many Steelers games get shown in prime time. While they’re a good team, I think it would be better if we could see other teams every once in a while. Anyways, Steelers to win.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sports blogs I like

Leave a Reply

