Don’t Hassel the Hoff review

Anytime I get a chance to get to a bookstore, I always end up coming home with a couple of books that I am anxious to read.

Don't be shocked that David Hasselhoff's book is a good read.

But I don’t like starting new books until I finish the one I am currently reading, so I hurry up and finish whatever it may be.

It just so happened to be the current book I was reading this time was David Hasselhoff’s autobiography, Don’t Hassel the Hoff.

I’ll let you in on a little secret: if you’re ever going to read an autobiography, it’s always better to read those of people who aren’t always famous, who have gone up and down the ladder of success.

They will admit that they like the fame, and want the benefits that comes with it. People who are always famous won’t admit to it.

Anyways, Hasselhoff’s book was a good read. If you think about it, he’s probably one of the most-watched television actors of all time. He starred in the Young and the Restless, Knight Rider, Baywatch and was a judge on America’s Got Talent.

He admits to the ups and down of his life, how he struggled when he was in between jobs.

It was a good read.

He never makes any excuses for his shows, and doesn’t try to pretend that Baywatch was more than what it was.

The only downside is that things wouldn’t make a logical move throughout the book. He never mentions anything to do with alcohol until he gets to the part when he went to the Betty Ford clinic. He never mentions any problems with his second wife until he talks about their divorce.

It would have been a good idea if he sprinkled some stories throughout the book so when he got to those sections, you could see the evolution of how it happened. In fact, I remember thinking that it was good that there was one Hollywood couple that never got a divorce as I was reading the book. So it was a shock to me to read that their marriage was having problems and he was getting a divorce.

I think the reason it bothered me is because Hasselhoff didn’t start the book off that way. He admits to problems with his first wife and why they broke up, so I figured he would be like that throughout the rest of the book.

Except for that, this was a pretty good autobiography. I give it 3.5 out of 5.

Leave a comment

Filed under entertainment

Leave a Reply

