The true meaning of loyalty

How much is a lifetime of loyalty worth?

Apparently, $25.

Enough for a ticket to a Dallas Stars game, but not a Toronto Maple Leafs game.

Lee Kirby has been a Leafs fan for life, but was so disappointed with the team this year, he put his loyalty up for bid on eBay.

“I will remove all Leaf Memorablia from my home and replace it with the team of choice of the winning bidder.  I will root for my “new team” whenever they are on TV.  I will argue with the guys at work that my new team is the best, no matter how bad/good they are (this one is easy, remember I was a Leaf fan).  The best part for me is now I can laugh at the Maple Laughs. “

Someone won his loyalty for $25, so now he has to start cheering for the Stars.

I’m not a Leafs fan (unless they’re playing the Senators), but I would think Leafs nation is glad to get rid of this guy.

So the Leafs started off a season a little slowly. Big deal.

Being a fan of your hockey team is more than cheering for them when they’re doing well; it’s cheering for them when they hit rock bottom.

Sure, there’s been Leafs jokes, cartoons and blogs about how bad the Leafs are, but that’s no reason to quit on your team.

So this guy, who’s been a “long-life” Leafs fan decides it’s not worth it anymore.

Personally, I’m glad a Habs fan didn’t win his loyalty. I wouldn’t want this type of guy cheering on my team. Who’s to say he wouldn’t sell his loyalty again next season to a different team?

Maybe the guy will get frustrated with hockey, and sell that to start cheering for another sport. Who knows?

I do know this: If he is, or was, a true Leafs fan, then it will be a lot harder to quit than he thinks. Once they go on a winning streak, and everyone in the city is cheering for them, he’ll be caught up in the fever. He’ll have to watch SportsCentre, which leads off with the Leafs. He’ll have to watch Hockey Night in Canada, which shows the Leafs ad nauseum. He’ll have to read the paper, surf the web, talk to friends, all which will revolve around the Leafs.

If he doesn’t find it difficult, then he never was a true Leafs fan.

1 Comment

Filed under Sports blogs I like

One response to “The true meaning of loyalty

  1. I’m surprised someone paid $25 for loyalty to the Leafs.

Leave a Reply

