Time for my first keeper hockey pool

I’ve done tons of hockey pools in my life.

Should I take a goalie in a keeper pool with my second round pick (#17 overall)?

Should I take a goalie in a keeper pool with my second round pick (#17 overall)?

I usually do a couple in the regular season, and a couple in the playoffs.

But I’ve never done a keeper pool. It’s always been something I wanted to do, but it’s difficult to get enough people who want to go in on it long-term.

But now, I finally had the chance to be in one. We draft next Friday, but we held our draft order selection today.

I ended up with the #2 pick. Out of nine people, that’s a pretty good pick. I’ll end up with one of either Sidney Crosby, Evgeni Malkin or Alexander Ovechkin.

The worst part though, is that I won’t be able to plan a strategy until the end of the second round. If five goalies go, should I select one as well? But if only two goalies go, then I could snag two top goalies.

Maybe I should pick a goalie and defenceman with my next two picks (#17 and #20). That way, I have a stud at each position. But I’m pretty sure I can still pick up quality defencemen later on. So maybe I get another great forward. Or pick up two top goalies right away.

Do I try to pick players from the same team (such as the Sedins in Vancouver)? Will there be an owner who overvalues youth, and picks guys like Tavares and Stamkos too early? Or can I pick them up in the later rounds?

In a normal hockey pool, I stay away from selecting from the Montreal Canadiens, my favourite team, because I’m worried I overvalue them. But will I be able to stick with that for a keeper pool? Could I have a team for years with no Habs on it?

So many questions, and I won’t have any idea for a strategy until about actually halfway through the draft.

Anyone have suggestions on a good strategy? What would you do?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Time for my first keeper hockey pool

  1. M@

    If I were you I would drop out. Then I’d have 5th pick overall! WOOOOOOoooooooo….sigh.

    I’ve been in a Keeper Pool for 4 years, and have had a handful of Sens on my team at one point or another. Had Comrie the first time around, had Gerber right when he arrived in Ottawa with all that hope, and currently have Campoli. Campoli meets my expectation level, Comrie disappointed, but Gerber….Gerber made watching the Sens almost unbearable. I’m a huge Sens fan, but every time he let in a softy, it’d kill me. And I was a Gerber fan too, I thought the team played like shite in front of him (ask Bob Burgess, he’ll tell you the same thing….then he’ll ask you What’s Harpooning?, but that’s off track.)

    If you draft Habs, you’ll be watching Habs games differently, depending on who you get. Goalies especially. I don’t know HOW many times I watched Price bring a shutout into the 3rd period, only to lose 2-1 in the shootout. Killed me, and I’m not a Habs fan!

    Sigh.

    M@

Leave a Reply

