Jon & Kate Plus 8 update

So last night, I saw a couple of episodes of Jon & Kate Plus 8 on TLC.

Pictured: Kate Gosselin at some sort of public speech. Not pictured: Any one else who matters, apparently.

Pictured: Kate Gosselin at some sort of public speech. Not pictured: Any one else who matters, apparently.

I’m sure I’ve seen a few episodes of this before, but I couldn’t remember anything about it.

My wife had it on, and since the freshly-delivered pizza was in the same room as the television, I watched about 45 minutes of it or so.

It was very disappointing.

Without knowing what has actually gone on in the past (both on and off-air), and too lazy and not caring enough to look it up, I was struck by one thing.

Kate Gosselin seems only to care about herself.

I know they are going through some tough times, but Kate was all about “me, me, me.”

This is a sample (paraphrased) of how the conversation went when she was talking to the producer (or audience, or whoever she is talking to when she looks at the camera):

“I want to do this for the kids. I’m so busy with work. I’m on tours all the time. I’ve written books. I go to book signings. I travel around the world. Etc. etc.”

Even she’s at home, it’s all about her.

The show should be called Some Guy & Kate & Some Kids & more of Kate.

The other thing is how they live. I’m sure they were given a lot of things. They have a huge home, a bus with a driver and they travel all the time. But Jon doesn’t work, and I have no idea what Kate does.

It just boggles the mind.

4 Comments

Filed under entertainment

4 responses to “Jon & Kate Plus 8 update

  1. Jamie

    Also got wrangled into watching this by the wife.

    Kate used to be a nurse. Apparently she grew up pretty poor. She’s now gone Hollywood, as I’m sure you can tell by the hair, makeup, clothes and tan.

    Jon has the look of a man who has taken so much abuse from his wife, he could snap at any minute.

    TLC has given them a ton, since it’s their highest-rated show. I’m fairly certain TLC built them this new house.

  2. Graham

    What, no mention of the potential violation of child labour laws by Jon & Kate? That better have been some good pizza for you to have to watch that show lol

  3. I think for the childrens’ sake it would have been better to end the series before this season started. This is not what you want your kids looking back at when they grow up. At this point, Jon & Kate can’t even look at each other.

    Its sad that it has become more of soap than a family series.

    • Heather

      I’d never thought of it that way, but you’re 100% correct. How awful that the children will have their parents’ biggest fights on DVD for all eternity! Last season’s ending would’ve been a still-uncomfortable-but-at-least-not-traumatizing way to end this whole charade, but I guess ratings were just too good to go out with dignity.

Leave a Reply

