How to write a book

So as I am losing weight and getting a six-pack of abs, I figured this would be a good time to tackle another major bucket list item: writing a book.

I promise not to use It was a dark and stormy night as my first sentence.

I promise not to use "It was a dark and stormy night" as my first sentence.

I know it’s going to be a major challenge, especially since I’m journalist. Reporters tend to write short pieces, and get to the point quickly, whereas novels build up to suspenseful climax.

I have a plot done in my head. I pretty much have the outline of the first chapter and a half done in my head, plus other future chapters. I know who the bad guys are, who the good guys are, where it’s going, what I want to accomplish, etc.

The thing is, I don’t know how to end it. I can’t think of a conclusion to whole thing.

And since it will be designed as a thriller (hopefully), I’m curious on if I should start writing, and hope the end comes to me at some point, or if I should wait until I can think of some way to end it bef0re I start typing.

So if anyone has any advice on this, or anything else to do with writing a book, please let me know.

Thanks for the help.

3 Comments

Filed under Things to do

3 responses to “How to write a book

  1. Dennis

    Just end it off saying everything was a big dream and nobody really died. Then, when everyone breathes a sigh of relief, have a big semi run over the hero.

  2. That was one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen on this blog, and that’s including everything I’ve written.

  3. Graham

    I think you should incorporate time travel….

Leave a Reply

