Miss California scandal is silly

The Miss California scandal has turned out to be a bunch of nonsense.

This is the racy photo that may strip her of her title? Lame.

This is the racy photo that may strip her of her title? Lame.

For those who haven’t heard, there is a racy photo of Miss California USA Carrie Prejean now released on the web.

The photo, the one to the right, may end up costing Prejean her crown.

To me, it’s just silly. The photo, while it may be seductive, isn’t exactly the hottest thing out there.

I think this is more of a backlash against some of her other more controversial comments/scandals.

The most famous scandal is her answer during the Miss USA pageant. She was asked whether all of the states should allow same sex marriage.

Her reply:

“Well I think it’s great that Americans are able to choose one way or the other. We live in a land where you can choose same-sex marriage or opposite marriage. You know what, in my country, in my family, I do believe that marriage should be between a man and a woman, no offense to anybody out there. But that’s how I was raised and I believe that it should be between a man and a woman. Thank you.”

Prejean doesn’t believe in same sex marriage. Fine, I can accept that. I don’t agree with it, but I can accept it.

But I don’t understand is the backlash that came out of it. She follows her beliefs. There isn’t anything wrong with that.

If anything, she should be thanked for not being like a normal Miss USA contestant. If Prejean had answered something bland, then she would be lumped in with the rest of the beauty pageant contestants (“Yes, I support world peace”). Give me a break.

This is what Prejean wore for the bikini part of the pageant. Is it any worse than the racy photo?

This is what Prejean wore for the bikini part of the pageant. Is it any worse than the "racy" photo?

Her other scandal has more to do with Miss USA than with her.

In the weeks leading up to the pageant, she had breast implants. Those implants were paid by the pageant.

Keith Lewis, the co-director of the Miss California organization, said on the Early Show that it was a personal choice. He also admitted the implants would give her a better chance of winning.

“Well, you know, first off, it’s not something that we endorse, nor is it something that we suggest. But when we meet with the titleholder when she’s crowned Miss California, we put to her a litany of questions about how she feels about herself, what she feels she needs to work on, what she may need to change, what is good, what is not good. We want to put her in the best possible confidence in order to present herself in the best possible light on a national stage.

“It’s a personal choice. Well, I think that it’s about how a woman feels about herself. In terms of, for me, it’s not a personal choice that I would recommend. But at the same time, I know so many women that have done the procedure and feel better about themselves and the way they present themselves.

“And I think that’s the question is, whether or not, when you’re looking at that procedure as an option, am I going to feel better about myself? It’s not about one night. It isn’t about one night of competition. And doing a procedure like that for one night of competition would be foolish.”

I find it foolish that the pageant that is thinking of stripping Prejean of her crown is the same organization that paid for her breast implants.

Maybe its time beauty pageants learn to lighten up a little.

Maybe it's time beauty pageants learn to lighten up a little.

Either make up your mind. You can’t say you want the contestants to feel better about themselves, and then chastise them when they take sexy photos.

One last point on the topic. This isn’t the first scandal involving beauty pageants. Every year, there seems to be more and more winners being stripped of their crowns. Maybe it’s time to relax the rules a bit on what winners can do. Most of them are late teens/early 20s. They’ll make mistakes, and do foolish things. I don’t think they should be punished so harshly for it if it doesn’t live up to the standards of a pageant official.

I think it’s time for the pageants to lighten up a little.

4 Comments

Filed under entertainment

4 responses to “Miss California scandal is silly

  1. Jamey M. Hopkins

    One of these days – in my lifetime, I hope – it will be no more acceptable to “follow your beliefs” on the issue of same-sex marriage that it is to do the same with respect to racism or womans rights. Denying same-sex couples the same rights and privilidges as traditional couples is a human rights violation.

  2. Mike Fiander

    I thought she was runner up?

  3. She was runner-up for Miss USA, but won Miss USA California.

  4. Cam The Man

    she is hot and thats all I know

Leave a Reply

