One thing I don’t understand

There are many things I don’t understand.

I dont understand why Paris Hilton is famous, but that isnt the point of this post.

I don't understand why Paris Hilton is famous, but that isn't the point of this post.

Nucleur physics. Why Paris Hilton is famous. The smoke monster from Lost.

But there’s one thing that’s been bothering me lately that I don’t understand. Why do people feel the need to e-mail more famous people in the middle of an exciting game.

A prime example: Bill Simmons of ESPN.

I think Bill Simmons is one of the best sports writers out there, even if his bias towards all-things Boston gets a little tedious after a while (especially for those of us who don’t like Boston teams). But he’s one of the funniest guys out there, and one of the smartest.

His favourite NBA team is the Boston Celtics. For those who may have missed it, Game 6 of their first round matchup against the Chicago Bulls was one of the most exciting playoff games in quite a while, as it went into triple overtime. Chicago held on for a one-point win to extend the series to a game 7.

Near the end of regulations, tons of people started e-mailing him. So much so, that he created a whole column just on the basis of those e-mails.

Some prime examples:

“WHY IS TONY ALLEN IN THE GAME? WHY IS TONY ALLEN IN THE GAME? WHY IS TONY ALLEN SHOOTING AND IN THE GAME?”

And…

Will you please write your next book about this series between the Bulls/Celtics?

And…

GIVE IT TO RAY ALLEN!!!!

Okay, maybe it’s just me, but I can’t imagine watching an exciting triple overtime basketball game, and then stopping during the game to e-mail a famous writer I’ve never met.

Joakim Noah made the game winning basket in triple overtime.

Joakim Noah made the game winning basket in triple overtime.

I don’t think there’s anything wrong with, I just don’t understand why. Are they not engrossed in the game? If I’m watching my favourite team play in one of the most exciting games in history, the last thing going through my mind is what a certain writer thinks at that specific moment, and what I should say in my e-mail to him.

And especially when the e-mails aren’t very exciting. Give it to Ray Allen? Why not just e-mail him and say “set up the screen and roll.”

Why not just enjoy the game? I just don’t get it.

2 Comments

Filed under Sports blogs I like

2 responses to “One thing I don’t understand

  1. Dennis

    Hmm. Why is Paris Hilton famous? This is the harder question ever asked. And I keep seeing pictures on magazine covers at the grocery store of Kim Kasdashian. Why is she famous? These are head scratchers.

  2. Dennis

    Tom. Remember Kato Kaelin, the guy living in the guest house in the OJ Simpson saga? He’s now headlining at some place in Vegas. The world is coming to an end.

Leave a Reply

