My hockey pool picks (kinda)

So I really didn’t get a chance to do a playoff hockey pool this year, which kind of sucks.

Can Sidney Crosby help me win my playoff hockey pool this year?

Can Sidney Crosby help me win my playoff hockey pool this year?

I normally organize one, but I had a Ottawa Sport and Social Club (OSSC) ball hockey championship game on the first day of the playoffs, so there was no time for one. (The game was delayed a day because the original date was a “typo”, which is a nice way for the league to say “We screwed up, but won’t take responsibility.” Spelling Thursday as Rhursday is a typo: getting the day of the week and the date wrong is a screw-up. We did end up winning the game 4-0, for the record).

I tried to organize a pool at the last minute, but wasn’t able to.

I was involved in one at work. My wife was due to arrive on a flight at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, and the pool was at 5. But my wife arrived two hours early (she should be on the Amazing Race when it comes to flying; she always gets on earlier flights), so I had to miss out on the draft.

But I did get a colleague to pick for me. I gave him a list of five teams, and he chose from there. It’s better to do pools yourself, because you can deviate from your list. If you see a lot of Red Wings are being chosen, then you make take a couple BlueJackets, just in case.

Still, he did a good job, and I’m pretty excited about my team. Out of 12 players, I have five Penguins, who I think will get to the finals.

So here are my picks, in order by team. Let me know what you think.

Sidney Crosby

Sergei Gonchar

Petr Sykora

Miroslav Satan

Bill Guerin

Johan Franzen

Daniel Cleary

Nicklas Backstrom

Mike Green

Patrick Kane

Patrick Sharp

Kris Versteeg

1 Comment

Filed under Sports blogs I like

One response to “My hockey pool picks (kinda)

  1. Pingback: Winner of the hockey pool « The Ryan Coke Experience

Leave a Reply

