Bad book

As many of you know, I’m a huge Montreal Canadiens fan.

I’m also from Newfoundland originally.

So when I saw a copy of the book Habs Fan From Newfoundland in a used bookstore this past summer, I thought it would be a perfect read for me.

I was so wrong.

It was a pretty disappointing book. It was basically an autobiography of the author’s life as it pertains to the Habs. This is what he was doing while watching this game. And this is why he decided not to watch this game. And so on.

Not very exciting. It took me a few weeks to read because it was hard to get into.

I could even excuse the book if it was funny, or at least, trying to be. But there didn’t seem to be any attempts at humour at all.

If you’re a Habs fan from Newfoundland, stay away from this book.

Now I’m searching for a new book to read. Any recommendations?

5 Comments

Filed under entertainment

5 responses to “Bad book

  1. The answer’s probably “yes” but have you read “The Game” by Ken Dryden? If not you’d probably like that I just read it recently.
    “Playing for Pizza” by John Grisham is ok too.

  2. newfcollins

    I’ve read the Game before. Pretty good book.

    What is Playing for Pizza about?

  3. blair

    Maybe it’s not the book.
    Maybe it’s the subject material.

    Lions in winter is a good read by the way.

  4. Jen

    Catch-22. Funny and sarcastic.

  5. “playing for Pizza” is about a football player who gets cut in North America and goes over to Italy to play.

Leave a Reply

