Dial-a-date?

Anyone else remember Dial-A-Date?

The host would be yelling things at the screen, like “It’s private, confidential, one on one, and discreet.”

I think it’s the only infomercial I’ve watched right through, and it was funny as can be. There were a few different ones out there too. And I believe it was Canadian, which made it all the more fun to watch.

It turns out the guy who hosted the show was an actor, and decided he needed a way to get on TV. He wanted to produce his own show, but a sitcom and what not were too expensive. So the infomercial was the way to go.

There’s an old article that has a feature on David Bronstein. It’s about 10 years old, but still a fun read (you can read it by clicking here).

This was the way infomercials should be done. Okay, so I probably wouldn’t watch an informercial about blenders and grills and knifes. But Dial-a-Date goes down in history as my personal favourite of all time.

2 Comments

Filed under entertainment

2 responses to “Dial-a-date?

  1. SW

    I remember watching that years and years ago and wish now I could find videos of him on that show doing his famous line….”it’s private, confidential, one on one and discreet” cause he did that arm thing on the discreet! It was so funny how all the girls were hot (and he would say such dirty things to them) and all the guys were dorks who were asking you to call.

  2. eileen

    Hi. I was actually looking for those “Dial-a-date” videos and came across your blog. I was in one of them in the mid-90’s and thought it would be funny to see again. The one I did was filmed at the Limelight Club in Toronto…unfortunately, I have not been able to find it anywhere. I did find 2 episodes @ vimeo.com, labeled “show #5” and “show #7”, but neither was the one I was in. My friends and I were talking about it the other day, and I wanted to show it to them. I was actually only 15 at the time, and got the job through my modeling agency. What a laugh it would be to see it again!

Leave a Reply

