Don’t have overdue books

It seems this woman in Grafton, Wisconsin, decided not to pay the fine she owed for overdue library books. The library called 20-year-old Heidi Dalibor, sent her letters, and even brought it to court. Dalibour didn’t bother to show up.

So a warrant was issued for her arrest. She was handcuffed by police, and fingerprinted at the station.

She had to spend $30 for the overdue books, but her mom had to spend $172 to get her out of jail.

This reminded me of when I was a young lad. I had a library book that was overdue for a year. I started feeling guilty, and actually had trouble sleeping at night (I have a realy guilty conscience). I thought it was going to cost hundreds of dollars to return (I was young, I didn’t know any better).

One day, I finally told my mom about it. She called the library to see how much it would cost. I was in luck. Apparently, every year they offer people a chance to return overdue books, no matter how much overdue, for a dollar. This lasts for a week. So I went to the library and paid off the one dollar fine, which made me very happy and relieved.

I haven’t had an overdue library book since.

I’m just glad now that I wasn’t brought to jail for it.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Leave a Reply

