Another one done

Scratch another one off my list of things I’ve always wanted to do.

I’ve always been a big fan of Joss Whedon and his shows, Buffy the Vampire Slayer and the spinoff, Angel. So I’ve always wanted to watch his show Firefly, and the followup movie, Serenity. So on my list of things to do was to watch the show and the movie (the show was cancelled after 13 episodes).

Firefly is set a few hundred years in the future, and focuses on a ship that is filled with thieves, but they have certain morals. The unique thing is that in the future, everyone is a cowboy.

The show was great. It was funny, the characters had chemistry, there were plenty of action and storylines to keep you interested.

The movie just seemed rushed. I realize in a movie, it’s hard to focus on all the characters. The same thing happened with the Star Trek movies. They always focused on the captain and one or two others, and the rest of the cast was left with nothing to do.

Serenity was the same way. The focus was mostly on the captain (Malcolm Reynolds) and a couple of others (such as River), and the rest just seemed to be there for extra lines and to take up space. Also, some of the chemistry of the show wasn’t there (such as the budding romance between Dr. Simon Tam and Kaylee Frye, the mechanic). It felt like the romance didn’t exist until the end of the movie. And the first kiss between the two was a big letdown.

Overall, I would highly recommend the show, but not the movie.

But for now, that’s another item scratched off my list.

2 Comments

Filed under Things to do

2 responses to “Another one done

  1. Thanks. This is the kind of thing my wife loves. For me though, I’m completely brain-dead when it comes to futuristic science fiction. I don’t know why. I get lost and confused. I tried to watch The Matrix and was lost after about five minutes. I’ve never been sure why my brain turns off while millions of others are loving these.

  2. Siarah

    I loved the series! But i do agree with how rushed the movie was, it was hard to enjoy it when there was so much that seemed to be missing. I really wish the show had stayed on. : (

Leave a Reply

