One year later

One year ago on Wednesday, the bodies of Chris Benoit and his family were found dead.

I found out when my wife and I came home from a walk, and I flipped on WWE Raw. Instead of the normal show, it was a recap of Benoit’s best matches. On the ticker, it stated Benoit and his family had died, but no other details were available.

Within a couple of days, it all came out. Chris had killed his son and his wife, and then took his own life, in a double murder-sucicide. Although there have been theories about why Benoit did it, no one knows for sure.

Benoit was my favourite wrestler. I have his Hard Knocks DVD. My favourite wrestling match is when he won the 2004 Royal Rumble, entering number 1 and lasting all the way to the end. He was Canadian and a great wrestler.

Now, one year later, I don’t know how to feel about him. The WWE has pretty much eliminated him from all their programming. His pictures aren’t on the website. His videos are gone. This isn’t something they can continue to do. As they release DVDs and best-of compilations, he’ll have to be included. He’s in too much programming to ingore him completely.

For example, when they release a best of Randy Orton DVD, they’ll have to include his first world championship title. But he won it against Chris Benoit.

But they’ll have to bring him back slowly. It would create too much outrage to bring him back all at once. I think they’ve started by having wrestlers do some of his finishing moves in the ring.

For me, I haven’t been able to watch any of his matches since last year. I don’t know how I’ll react when I do. Can I enjoy the match knowing what he did? Will I be able to forget what he did for 20 minutes? Can I suspend my disbelief and just enjoy the wrestling match for the actual wrestling?

I’m not sure. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to watch his stuff again.

2 Comments

Filed under Misc.

2 responses to “One year later

  1. Jamie

    Since this happened, I don’t think I’ve watched more than five minutes of WWE programming.

    Benoit was my favorite, too…as you may remember.

  2. A Bit Of Everything Sports

    I remember that RAW and how quick they were to do a memorial to them, even with the cloud of suspission that was there. That was such an interesting story all the way to the Wikipedia entry posted before the bodies were found. I too admired Benoit in the ring and on OTR he seemed like a level headed guy. Who knows why this tragedy occured, clearly he had a very dark side. Perhaps one too many flying head butts from the top.

Leave a Reply

