Incredible pain

I’m usually a guy who handles pain pretty well. I don’t take medications, I don’t complain of headaches, I play through bumps and bruises. When I broke my collarbone, I took no pills for the pain, because it didn’t seem to hurt that much.

But all that changed Friday morning. I woke up with my stomach hurting, and it kept getting worse. My wife called 911. It turned out I had a kidney stone.

I couldn’t believe it. My dad has kidney stones, and has told me about it. But until you feel the pain yourself, you have no idea what it is like. There’s no way you can be prepared for it. It literally feels like your stomach will explode. I have never felt such pain before in my life.

And there’s nothing you can do to prevent it. A better diet can help, but can’t prevent it. And doctors don’t know why people get them.

But I can tell you first hand that it is painful.

5 Comments

Filed under Misc.

5 responses to “Incredible pain

  1. Youch! Lucky you.

    Are you feeling better now?

  2. Jan

    Poor you, Tom!! I hope you are feeling better now.

  3. Cheryl Brink

    Not cool … not at all … especially the day you’re leaving for vacation! Glad you had a good time in Halifax anyway.

  4. Graham

    I know what you mean. I stubbed my toe once on the edge of my bed. And it hurt. Alot. Ok, maybe that’s not the same lol. I hope the pain you felt never comes back!

  5. Cathy

    I am very glad it didn’t stop you from coming to Halifax 🙂

Leave a Reply

