Stanley Cup finals prediction

Okay, so we’re down to the final two in the NHL playoffs. The Detroit Red Wings against the Pittsburgh Penguins.

I was originally torn on who to cheer for, until I remember one thing. No Newfoundlander has ever had his name on the Stanley Cup. Daniel Cleary, from Harbour Grace, Newfoundland, is playing for the Red Wings. Of course I have to cheer for them. Hopefully, this will be the year Detroit wins the Cup.

Now that I know who to cheer for, I still need to figure out who’s going to win. The Pens have more balanced scoring, while the Red Wings have a better defence.

I can see this being a learning year for the Pens. A lot of the Red Wings players have been there before (Lidstrom, Chelios, Osgoode, Datsyuk, etc.), while for a lot of the Pens, it’s their first time. It reminds me of the 1983 Cup finals, when the experienced Islanders defeated first-timers Edmonton Oilers. The Oilers used that as a learning tool, and won the Cup four of the next five years.

So with all that being said, I think Detroit will win it in five games. Just watch out for Crosby and company for the next few years.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sports blogs I like

Leave a Reply

