WWE VS TNA

So last night was maybe the best thing to happen in wrestling in about 10 years.

And it was a dud.

TNA decided to go heads up against the WWE on Monday nights. It was a great idea. The best time for wrestling in the past two decades was the few years in the late 90s when WCW and WWE were going against each other. It created the Attitude era of the WWE (Stone Cold Steve Austin, The Rock, Degeneration X, etc.), and it created the NWO in WCW.

It was actually cool to be a wrestling fan at that time. You could mention any of the above wrestlers, and most people knew what you were talking about.

After a while, it started to go downhill, and it was like the federations didn’t even try anymore.

So having a new feud between two promotions seemed like a good idea. Until I tuned in.

First off, I was flipping back and forth between Raw, whatever TNA called their show, and Heroes.

Every time I turned on TNA, people were talking. No wrestling. Just talking. And they kept talking about putting over the young guys, but it was all the veterans who were saying it, which didn’t seem right. They also referred to the WWE way too much. A message to TNA: Stop talking about the other guys! You didn’t do anything different last night than the ones you’re complaining about.

When I did see a match (Samoa Joe against Abyss), it wasn’t exciting, and the announcers didn’t do a good job of telling me why I should care about the two guys in the ring. Not a good sign.

When I flipped on WWE, I was more intrigued by the fact Bret Hart was there (first time in 12 years). That part was great. The rest of it? Not so much.

I got to see Kofi Kingston against Randy Orton (nothing new there). DX against Big Show and Chris Jericho (seen it three times in the past month). DX shilling products (yawn).

Neither did much to rope me in, and I’m guessing they didn’t rope in too many new viewers either. But hopefully, they’ll get better as it goes along.

3 Comments

Filed under entertainment, Sports blogs I like

3 responses to “WWE VS TNA

  1. urbandaddy

    My thoughts exactly!

    Apparently people were watching! 5.6 million watched RAW, and 2.2 million watched Impact.

    I was disappointed by the old, fat guys in TNA and the lack of good wrestling in WWE, although I laughed when DX were hyping their product.

  2. A Bit Of Everything Sports

    I caught the replay last night. I think they were just laying the foundation moving forward. The AJ Styles – Kurt Angle match was pretty good. Plus I got to see a semi-sober Scott Hall and 2-pac and Bischoff. Any chance to say hello to the ‘Bad Guy’ is A-ok in my book! I will be interested to see how it goes. Maybe it will become a WCW but done correctly this time

  3. WWE Wrestling

    TNA is rising now. wwe is sometimes funny & full of insult.

Leave a Reply

