Bicyclists vs drivers

One of the big debates this summer (at least here in Ottawa) has to do with drivers versus bicyclists.

Cyclists vs drivers is a heated debate lately.

Cyclists vs drivers is a heated debate lately.

It started a couple of months ago when a driver in Kanata hit five bicyclists, and then kept on driving.

It’s come up again now with the news that former Ontario attorney general Michael Bryant is charged with criminal negligence causing death and dangerous operation of a motor vehicle.  A 32-year-old cyclist, Darcy Allan Sheppard, was killed in a car accident a couple of days ago.

Many bicyclists believe drivers are at fault and they don’t share the road properly. Many drivers think bicyclists believe they don’t have to follow the rules of the road.

I think they’re both right.

When I was young (like six years old or so), I saw a younger neighbour of mine crossing the road on his bicycle (with training wheels) get hit by a pickup truck that was speeding.

Last year, I saw a group of five bicyclists rush through an intersection even though they had a red light and were supposed to stop.

I think too many people believe they have the right of way for whatever reason. I’m actually surprised there aren’t more bicyclists that get hit each year.

There are way too many drivers who don’t have respect for bicyclists. And there are way too many bicyclists that run stop signs and lights.

I think the most interesting group to ask about this would be pedestrians. Who do they believe is the worst of the two?

What are your thoughts?

3 Comments

Filed under News

3 responses to “Bicyclists vs drivers

  1. Laura

    You need a thid option there that says both! I think it depends on what mode of transportation you are using at the time. When I’m driving a car I curse the cyclists, when I’m on a bike I curese the cars.

  2. Steve

    If I make a mistake on my bike, I can’t kill someone driving a car. That pretty much sums it up.

  3. Joanne Keeler

    I just came back from a bike ride and I can tell you I always follow the rules of the road. I have been hit by a vehicle before that was not paying attention. I think both cyclist and drivers can be negligent. As a cyclist we need wider shoulders on some of the road ways. This would solve some of the problems.

Leave a Reply

