Daily Archives: July 17, 2009

The Beatles are overrated

Yeah, I said it. The Beatles are overrated.

British? Check. Singers? Check. Overrated? Check.

British? Check. Singers? Check. Overrated? Check.

I’m not saying they’re a bad band, or their music sucks, or they didn’t have an impact on the music scene. That’s not what overrated means. But when it comes to top bands of all times, they just don’t measure up.

Their music has some of the simplest lyrics you’ve ever heard. For example, A Hard Day’s Night:

“It’s been a hard day’s night, and I been working like a dog

It’s been a hard day’s night, I should be sleeping like a log”

Seriously? They rhymed dog and log? What’s next? Cat and hat? I don’t see how a band who writes like Dr. Seuss could be considered the greatest band of all time.

The next stanza in A Hard Day’s Night:

“You know I work all day to get you money to buy you things

And it’s worth it just to hear you say you’re going to give me everything.”

Now they rhymed thing with thing! Geez.

That’s not the only example.

What did they rhyme this time? Car and far?

What did they rhyme this time? Car and far?

In Yellow Submarine, they rhymed submarine with submarine.

Let it Be rhymes me and me, as well as be and be in the first stanza.

Hey Jude doesn’t even rhyme.

I know I’m not the only one out there who believes the Beatles are overrated.

From Dave Simpson of the Guardian newspaper in the U.K.:

“I never bought the myth – all that thumbs aloft, wacky Scousers, lovely boys, world peace stuff which we now know to be nonsense because they were in fact either taking heroin, fighting among themselves or dreaming up the Frog Chorus all that time.”

Virgin Records did a top 10 list why the Beatles are overrated.

Like I said, overrated is not the same as saying they suck. But they have some of the simplest lyrics of any band in history, and most of their songs sound like they were written by school children.

13 Comments

Filed under entertainment